Group Members

Nathaniel (Nate) Chaney

Assistant professor
Bio:
Focus:
email: nathaniel.chaney@duke.edu

  • Postdoc, Princeton University/GFDL
  • Ph.D., Princeton University
  • B.A., U.C. Berkeley

Jason Simon

Postdoc, started October 2019
Bio: Atmospheric modeler specializing in large-eddy simulation of the atmospheric boundary layer; currently focused on heterogeneous land/atmosphere coupling.
Focus: large-eddy simulation; boundary layer; land/atmosphere coupling
email: jason.simon@duke.edu

  • Ph.D., U.C. Berkeley
  • M.S., N.C. State
  • B.S., N.C. State

Laura Torres Rojas

Ph.D. Student, started August 2019
Bio: Looking for new and efficient ways to represent small-scale heterogeneity in land surface models. Currently working with HydroBlocks LSM.
Focus: heterogeneity; hydrology; earth system modeling
email: laura.torres@duke.edu

  • M.S., Universidad de los Andes
  • B.S., Universidad de los Andes

Tyler Waterman

Ph.D. Student, started August 2019.
Bio: Hydrologist with a name fit for the field interested in how to effectively couple the land surface to the atmosphere.
Focus: land/atmosphere coupling; surface heterogeneity; single column models; eddy flux towers
email: tyler.waterman@duke.edu

  • B.S., U.C. Berkeley

Emma Xu

Ph.D. Student, started August 2020
Bio: Life-long learner from China living my best life as a future hydrologist
Focus: soil hydrology; land heterogeneity; digital soil mapping
email: chengcheng.xu@duke.edu

  • M.S., Duke University
  • B.E., China Agricultural University

Jiaxuan Cai

Ph.D. Student, started August 2021
Bio:
Focus:
email: jiaxuan.cai@duke.edu

Luiz Bacelar

Ph.D. Student, started March 2021
Bio:
Focus: distributed hydrological models; flash flood mapping; flood risk management
email: luiz.bacelar@duke.edu

  • M.S., National Institute for Space Research
  • B.S., Federal University of Pelotas

Daniel Guyumus

Ph.D. Student, started August 2021
Bio:
Focus:
email: daniel.guyumus.preciado@duke.edu